Page 1 of 2

Chicago Error

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 1:14 am
by MemeOS
Hi, i had a VM on VMware workstation 12 PRO and i was booting it up, i was following MJD's Guide. and it crashes with the message KERNEL: Inadequate DPI Server. and boots me to DOS. many other people are having this problem and theirs no real fix to it. please help

Re: Chicago Error

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 2:46 am
by FateForWindows
Try Virtualbox, it works really well.

Re: Chicago Error

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 2:50 am
by nknight
Virtualbox doesn't support Windows 9x Operating Systems the best thing to basically use is for like old beta builds up to longhorn builds would be Virtual PC 2007.

Re: Chicago Error

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 2:53 am
by NewYorkEagle
FarteForWindows wrote:
Tue Jan 31, 2017 2:46 am
Try Virtualbox, it works really well.
Nah, use VMware. It could at least support all the Windows versions, especially the ones in MS-DOS.

Re: Chicago Error

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 2:55 am
by nknight
I do agree but for using beta builds with timebombs you can't use VirtualBox

Re: Chicago Error

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 2:59 am
by FateForWindows
nknight wrote:
Tue Jan 31, 2017 2:55 am
I do agree but for using beta builds with timebombs you can't use VirtualBox
There are command-line options, actually.

Re: Chicago Error

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 3:00 am
by nknight
you just taught me something I didn't know

Re: Chicago Error

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 3:06 am
by FlamingApple
FarteForWindows wrote:
Tue Jan 31, 2017 2:46 am
Try Virtualbox, it works really well.
VirtualBox is a horrible for older operating systems. I recommend VMware player, Parallels or Microsoft Virtual PC 2007

Re: Chicago Error

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 3:08 am
by FateForWindows
FlamingApple wrote:
Tue Jan 31, 2017 3:06 am
FarteForWindows wrote:
Tue Jan 31, 2017 2:46 am
Try Virtualbox, it works really well.
VirtualBox is a horrible for older operating systems. I recommend VMware player, Parallels or Microsoft Virtual PC 2007
I meant for Chicago. It installs without issues for me, but VMware definitely works better for most other things.

Re: Chicago Error

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 3:18 am
by MemeOS
Is there a timebomb on this? i thought i would get help.